Databases
NovelNY & SCRLC Databases in this list are accessible for free with your library card.
Access to OCLC and EBSCO databases is provided through NY State Library regional funding from the South Central Regional Library Council (SCRLC).
Access to the History Research & Historic Newspaper websites is free, but some may require users to create an account.
Access NovelNY at https://novelnewyork.org/
These Gale databases are provided by the New York State Library. NOVELny connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Resources in the portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card. Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and more!
NovelNY databases include: Academic OneFile & Academic OneFile Select, Gale Business: Insights, Gale Books and Authors, Gale General OneFile, Gale In Context: Elementary, Gale In Context: Middle School, Gale High School OneFile, Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints, Gale OneFile: Computer Science, Gale OneFile Educators Reference, Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine, Gale OneFile Informe Academico, Gale OneFile: News, Gale Power Search, Peterson’s Test and Career Prep, and the New York Times.
NovelNY collections include: Gale OneFile Agriculture, Communications and Mass Media, Criminal Justice, Culinary Arts, Diversity Studies, Economics and Theory, Entrepreneurship, Environmental Studies, Fine Arts, Gardening and Horticulture, Gender Studies, Health and Wellness, Home Improvement, Hospitality, Information Science, Insurance and Liability, Leadership and Management, Legal Forms, Military and Intelligence, Nursing and Allied Health, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine, Pop Culture Studies, Popular Magazines, Psychology, Religion and Philosophy, Science, U.S. History, Vocations and Careers, War and Terrorism, and World History.
A Clickable list of the NovelNY Gale databases can be found at https://stls.libguides.com/databases
NovelNY also provides access to the Britannica Encyclopedias collection.
For help using the NovelNY databases, check out the video tutorials here: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/
OCLC FirstSearch Base Package
Log in to FirstSearch here using SCRLC’s URL referral. Login: 100196568 Password: putt5thaw
The FirstSearch interface provides precise, simultaneous searching of the following:
- ArticleFirst: OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
- ClasePeriodica: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
- Ebooks: OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
- ECO: An OCLC collection of scholarly journals (Browse Journal Titles)
- ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education
- GPO: U.S. government publications
- MEDLINE: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing
- OAIster: Union catalog of digital resources
- OpenAccessContent: Open access content in libraries worldwide
- PapersFirst: OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
- Proceedings: An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
- WorldCat: OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
- WorldCatDissertations: A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat
EBSCO Consumer Health Complete
Log in to EBSCO Consumer Health Complete here using SCRLC’s URL referral. Login: stls20 Password: @library1
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Consumer Health Complete also offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Consumer Health Complete is available in English, Chinese, Vietnamese, and Spanish.
EBSCO Literary Reference Center
Log in to EBSCO Literary Reference Center here using SCRLC’s URL referral. Login: stls20 Password: @library1
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It includes reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO Publishing, featuring an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center, ebooks, and GreenFILE
Our subscription to other EBSCO databases affords free access to several other EBSCO databases, including Teacher Reference Center, GreenFILE, and several ebook collections. Accessible here: EBSCOhost Login Login: stls20 Password: @library1
Also Available through SCRLC:
AskUs24/7 Virtual Reference www.askus247.org
JobNow provides users with a host of services to help in every step of the job search process including job searching, resume template, professional resume review, and live interview coaching. Log in using your library card number and pin.
Peterson’s Test Prep from Gale
Prepare for standardized tests with Peterson’s Test Prep. This valuable resource includes full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. It offers information on undergraduate and graduate programs and tuition and scholarship assistance, as well as a resume builder and interviewing advice. Whether you’re a student planning for college or a professional embarking on a new career path, Peterson’s Test Prep can help you along the way.
Fulton Historical Newspapers
Here you will find archives for historical newspapers from throughout the US and Canada. The Cuba Patriot is available here from the first issue to 2009 at this link : Cuba Patriot. The site does require that you create an account, but it is free to do so. Be aware that if you start on the main page the website comes up as “Postcards” but if you click on the 2nd link option to browse the archives, the first link in the top left is the Historic Newspapers.
Living History Registry
This registry offers a listing of special interest items like aircraft, space craft, machinery, maritime, railroad, vehicles, and weapons located around the world. The database lists items on the roadside, on public display, in museums, and in private collections, and is searchable by item category or by location. The website updates frequently and invites the public to suggest items that should be added to the registry.
New York State Archives
Portions of Ancestry.com pertaining to New York are free to NY state residents. The New York State Archives partnered with Ancestry to digitize some NY state records of interest to genealogists. Once you enter your zip code, you can sign up for a free account to access these records.
New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a portal for learning more about the people, places and events that contributed to the making of New York State. New York Heritage Digital Collections features a broad range of materials that present a glimpse into New York state’s history and culture. Over 350 libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions make their collections available in the repository. These primary source materials span the range of New York State’s history, from the colonial era to present. Stories are told through photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more. Collections can be browsed by topic, material type, time period, and contributing organization. There are also special exhibits on popular topics like women’s voting rights, the Erie canal, and immigration featured on the website. New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight of the nine Empire State Library Network library councils: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York’s unique history. Digitized historic newspapers can be browsed by county or by title, and are fully searchable. The website uses the same software as the Library of Congress’ Chronicling America Project. This is created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network. Cuba, NY newspapers available on the site include the Amateur Courier (1877 – 1878), Cuba Daily News (1880 – 1881), Cuba Evening Review (Aug 1881 – 1882), Cuba True Patriot (1862-1872), Cuba Patriot 1875-1908, Cuba Patriot Free Press 1909-1914, Cuba Patriot and Free Press 1914-1920, Cuba Patriot Free Press 1920-1962, Cuba Patriot 1962-1972, Patriot and Free Press 1973-1981, Cuba Patriot and Free Press 1981-1995, New Patriot 1994-1995, Patriot and Free Press 1995-2022.