Award Winning Books

Below is a list of the current winners of the three major awards for children's and teen literature.
Clicking on the images will take you to the titles in the online catalog.

The Caldecott Medal, named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, is awarded by the Association for Library Service to Children [ALSC], a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The Newbery Medal, named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery, is awarded by the ALSC to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

We have also provided a list of the honor books, which are runners-up for the awards. Clicking on a title will take you to the book's record in the online catalog.

Caldecott Winner

Radiant Child, by Javaka Steptoe

Newbery Winner

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill

Printz Winner

March: Book Three, by John Lewis

Radiant Child by Javaka Steptoe
The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
March: Book Three by John Lewis

Caldecott Honor Books

Leave Me Alone! illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol
Freedom in Congo Square illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Carole Boston Weatherford
Du Iz Tak? illustrated and written by Carson Ellis
They All Saw a Cat illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel

Newbery Honor Books

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life written by Ashley Bryan
The Inquisitor's Tale written by Adam Gidwitz, illustrated by Hatem Aly
Wolf Hollow written by Lauren Wolk

Printz Honor Books

Asking For It by Louise O'Neill
The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry
Scythe by Neal Shusterman
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Comments are closed.